Transition Year Photography Competition 2018-19

Kilkenny Photographic Society are delighted to announce our annual Transition Year Photography Competition for 2018-19. The now annual competition which was established under the guidance of KPS member Donal Byrne to promote photography in secondary schools in Kilkenny, primarily amongst Transition Year students. The competition continues to grow from strength to strength and it now has more than 20 schools in Kilkenny City and County participating.

This years TY competition is now open for entries and all entries must be received the competition organisers no later than  10th April 2019. All schools will now have received the competition rules and entry requirements and students should contact their TY teacher/co-ordinator for further details.

This years competition theme is OPEN. A registration fee of €20 applies to each school participating and one image entry per student.

The Prizes:

1st Place: Canon DSLR Camera Sponsored by Canon Ireland.

2nd Place: Digital Camera Sponsored by Whites Camera Centre, Kilkenny.

3rd Place: €50 Voucher Sponsored by Kilkenny Photographic Society.

Medals: Three students from each school with the top 3 images selected by the judges will receive medals on the presentation night.

A presentation night of prizes and awards will take place Thursday, 16th May, 2019 starting at 7:30pm. The venue is to be confirmed. 

Kilkenny Photographic Society would like to thank the sponsors of our TY competition whom without their continued support and kindness it would be extremely difficult to run this competition

Canon Ireland: Ist Prize

Whites Camera Centre, Kilkenny: 2nd Prize

Kilkenny County Council: Kilkenny Arts Office – Arts Act Grant

Hennessey Sports, Kilkenny: Medal Presentation

Kilkenny Photographic Society: €50 Voucher

Pictured left is last years winning image:

Aisling O’Mahony Scoil Aireagail, Ballyhale, Co Kilkenny 

Share This