There was a very big turnout last Thursday night for the judging of the Mini Panel Competition. This is the final monthly competition of the year.  Members were invited to submit a panel of prints for assessment. The judging would be akin to judging for distinctions and our illustrious panel of judges were in fine form on the night. The judges were Karen O’ Hara AIPF, ARPS,  John Cuddihy AIPF and Seamus Costello FIPF , ASIFGP  from Kilkenny Photographic Society and Mark Sedgwick FIPF, EFIAP/B, EsFIAP who was chairman of the panel.



There was a large number of entries from each category – Novice, Intermediate and Advanced. Thanks to the organisation and hard work of Derville, Andy, Eamon , Lukasz and Mark and Chairman, John everything ran smoothly and efficiently on the night. Each of the panels was judged individually. Some members submitted a statement with their panel and these were read by Chairman, John Hughes. There was a huge variety of themes from portraiture, landscape, street photography, architecture, nature and macro and the judges were impressed with the overall standard of work presented. Their comments were constructive and designed to encourage the entrants to continue on their distinctions journey with some valuable tips on how to improve.



This was the first time that such an event was held in the club and the overall response from the members was that more of the same would be welcomed. Congratulations and thanks to all the members who entered. Here are the winners and their winning panels:



1st           Fiona Long

2nd          Margaret Moylan

2nd          Ann Dowling

3rd           David Kelly

Fiona Long – Novice Winner



1st           Denis O’Reilly

2nd          Lukasz Piatkowski

3rd           Dieter Rowe Setz


1st           Eamon Wall LRPS

2nd          Andy Magan LIPF

3rd           Patrick Quinn LIPF


Eamon Wall – Advanced Winner

Share This